Dorchester Town Council

Annual Meeting of Dorchester Town Council

20 May 2019

- Present: Retiring Mayor D. Taylor and Councillors B. Armstrong-Marshall, R. Biggs, S. Biles, A. Chisholm, L. Fry, T. Harries, J. Hewitt, F. Hogwood, S. Hosford, G. Jones, S. Jones, F. Kent-Ledger, R. Major, R. Potter, M. Rennie and R. Ricardo.
- Apologies: Councillors A. Canning, D. Leaper and A. Lyall.
- Attending: Civic Dignitaries, family and friends of the Mayor Elect, and members of the community of Dorchester.

1. Election of Town Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor M. Rennie, seconded by Councillor G. Jones and

Resolved

That Councillor Richard Biggs be elected Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Councillor Biggs, having accepted the Office of Town Mayor and made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and thanked the Council on behalf of himself and his Mayoress, Mrs Carolyn Biggs, for the honour conferred upon them.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor T. Harries, seconded by Councillor J. Hewitt and

Resolved

That Councillor David Taylor be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

3. Vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor

It was proposed by Councillor S. Hosford, seconded by Councillor A. Chisholm and

Resolved

That the thanks of the Council be given to David Taylor for the open, inclusive and enthusiastic manner in which he has carried out the duties of Town Mayor during the past year. Councillor Taylor was presented with a Past Mayor Badge by the Mayor, and Mr Martin Shepherd was presented with a Past Mayor's Consort Badge.

Councillor Taylor addressed the meeting.

4. Adjournment

The Council rose at 7.30pm and remains adjourned until 21 May 2019 at 7.00pm.

Mayor