Dorchester Town Council

Annual Meeting of Dorchester Town Council

22 May 2023

Present: Retiring Mayor J. Hewitt and Councillors R. Biggs, S. Biles, A. Canning, A.

Chisholm, L. Fry, F. Hogwood, S. Hosford, G. Jones, S. Jones, F. Kent-Ledger, D.

Leaper, R. Major, R. Potter, M. Rennie, R. Ricardo and D. Taylor.

Apologies: Councillors B. Armstrong-Marshall, T. Harries and A. Lyall.

Attending: Civic Dignitaries, family and friends of the Mayor Elect, and members of the

community of Dorchester.

1. Election of Town Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor S. Hosford, seconded by Councillor R. Major and

Resolved

That Councillor Alistair Chisholm be elected Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Councillor A. Chisholm, having accepted the Office of Town Mayor and made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and thanked the Council on behalf of himself and his Mayoress, Kate Hebditch, for the honour conferred upon them.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor S. Biles, seconded by Councillor D. Leaper and

Resolved

That Councillor Janet Hewitt be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

3. Vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor

It was proposed by Councillor S. Jones, seconded by Councillor L. Fry and

Resolved

That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Janet Hewitt for the open, inclusive and enthusiastic manner in which she has carried out the duties of Town Mayor during the past year.

Councillor J. Hewitt was presented with a Past Mayor's Badge by the Mayor, and her Consorts Mr David Hewitt and Mr Warwick Dabbs were presented with a Past Mayor's Consort Badge.

Councillor J. Hewitt addressed the meeting.

4. Adjournment

The Council rose at 7.51pm and remains adjourned until 23 May 2023 at 7.00pm.

Mayor