Dorchester Town Council

Annual Meeting of Dorchester Town Council

23 May 2022

Present: Retiring Mayor G. Jones and Councillors R. Biggs, S. Biles, A. Canning, A.

Chisholm, L. Fry, T. Harries, J. Hewitt, F. Hogwood, S. Hosford, S. Jones, D.

Leaper, R. Major, R. Potter, M. Rennie and R. Ricardo.

Apologies: Councillors B. Armstrong-Marshall, F. Kent-Ledger, A. Lyall and D. Taylor.

Attending: Civic Dignitaries, family and friends of the Mayor Elect, and members of the

community of Dorchester.

1. Election of Town Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor S. Jones, seconded by Councillor R. Major and

Resolved

That Councillor Janet Hewitt be elected Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Councillor J. Hewitt, having accepted the Office of Town Mayor and made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and thanked the Council on behalf of herself and her Mayor's Consorts David Hewitt and Warwick Dabbs, for the honour conferred upon them.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor S. Biles, seconded by Councillor S. Hosford and

Resolved

That Councillor Gareth Jones be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

3. Vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor

It was proposed by Councillor A. Chisholm, seconded by Councillor R. Ricardo and

Res<u>olved</u>

That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Gareth Jones for the open, inclusive and enthusiastic manner in which he has carried out the duties of Town Mayor during the past year.

Councillor G. Jones was presented with a Past Mayor's Badge by the Mayor, and Mrs Anne Jones was presented with a Past Mayoress's Badge.

Councillor G. Jones addressed the meeting.

4. Adjournment

The Council rose at 7.43pm and remains adjourned until 24 May 2022 at 7.00pm.

Mayor